First Impression – Milani Conceal + Perfect

Last week I purchased a few YouTube hyped drugstore foundations from Well.ca. The one I was most excited about was the Milani Conceal and Perfect foundation as I heard it was medium to full coverage and good for oily skin. It cost $12.99 CAD which I find to be a pretty standard drugstore price for foundation.

20170529_193544

Since I had my son 4 months ago I have developed combination skin, I am really oily in my T-zone but around my mouth I am quite dry. I find most full coverage foundations wear off or get cakey around my mouth and it bothers me.

My first impression of this foundation was that it was full coverage. It did not completely cover a few of my acne scars but I have yet to find one that does without concealing and color correcting first. It is a thick formula but it goes on evenly with my Sigma flat brush and I could build it up with a beauty blender in the areas that needed more coverage. This foundation dried matte and was easy to apply bronzer, blush and powder on top of.

20170530_123152.jpg

Here is what it looks like 15 minutes after it was applied.

The color was a bit dark for me but it will work really well once I get a little more tan. I find it made my skin look flawless from far away and in photos, however it did exaggerate my pores when looking at it closer.

20170530_191354

Here is what it looks like 8 hours after I applied it (and after a hair appointment).

I did not find it to hold up as well throughout the day as I would have liked. I used my regular Smashbox primer and my Wet N Wild setting spray and it still wore off around my nose and mouth. I also found it got quite cakey around my mouth and really showed my pores and fine lines. All in all it still looked pretty good in photos even 8 hours after it was applied.

I would say this foundation compares to Estee Lauder Doublewear in coverage and formula. I find Estee Lauder’s to last a bit longer and not look as cakey, but for a drugstore foundation I found it gave a similar finish and looked really good in photos.

I would recommend this foundation to those with oily skin who like full coverage, especially when you are going to be taking photos and want you skin to look flawless.

 

 

Leave a comment