Maybelline Superstay Foundation

Last weekend I went to Shoppers Drug Mart for their Spend Your Points event. I got $75 worth of free makeup when I redeemed 50,000 Optimum points! The purchase I was most excited about was the Maybelline Superstay Foundation. I follow a few Youtubers who have raved about it and said it was long lasting, full coverage and great for oily skin. I have been trying it out all week and decided to give a full review to let you all know if it lives up to its hype!

First off, the package is made of heavy glass which feels nice and high end. It also has a pump which is super convenient and a step up from the Fit Me foundation packaging. The foundation costs $15.99 CAD which is on the higher end for drug store foundation but not quite as high as Revlon or L’Oreal. I purchased shade 220 Natural Beige which is just a tad bit too dark for me right now. I am usually 330 in Fit Me so I thought 220 would be lighter but it wasn’t. The shade range for the Superstay was not nearly as expansive as their Fit Me line, Shoppers Drug Mart only had 5 shades available.

On first impression the foundation is lightweight yet full coverage. It blends easily with a beauty blender or brush. The formula dries quite fast so you need to apply it quickly. I found when I wore it without a pore minimizing primer it did accentuate my pores and looked a bit more cakey. When I wore good primer though I found it looked a lot more smooth and skin like. The finish is definitely matte and it did not break up or get oily throughout the day like most foundations do on me. After 8 hours it still looked pretty good but by 12 hours it had faded and wore off significantly.

20180115_090615.jpg

This is a picture of me after just applying the foundation and finishing my makeup. It definitely is full coverage and gives an almost airbrushed look right after application. It does wear down to a more natural look throughout the day though. The one trick I learned is less is more, it blends really well and a little bit goes a long way even for full coverage. If you wear too much it can definitely look cakey but if you spread a small amount it looks decently natural.

The Pros: 

  • full coverage
  • drugstore price
  • good quality packaging and pump
  • easily blends with either a sponge or brush
  • long lasting
  • matte finish
  • does not break up on oily skin

The Cons: 

  • it can look cakey and feel heavy if you use too much
  • it accentuates the pores
  • lack of shade range

All in all I would say it is a great drug store foundation and easily my new favourite. I love that it is a long lasting full coverage foundation at the drug store! I would highly recommend this if you are looking for full coverage foundation for oily skin.

Let me know if you have tried this or any other new foundations from the drug store lately!

signature1

Follow me on social media:  

Beauty and Mom Life Instagram

Beauty and Mom Life Twitter

2 Replies to “Maybelline Superstay Foundation”

Leave a comment