NYX 24 Days of Lips – Week 1

I was really excited for December because I decided I wanted to get through all of the lippies in the NYX Advent Calendar that I bought in my last NYX Haul. Many of the colors are way out of my comfort zone so I knew I likely would not wear them out but I was still excited to try them out and see which ones I would add to my collection.

20171207_100738_HDR

The lippies themselves are mini versions but NYX stayed very true to the same packaging that is on the full size products. I think they are the perfect size to throw in your pocket or purse and I rarely use a whole lip product so this way I may actually get a chance to finish them!

20171207_100803_HDR

Here is the mini Intense Butter Gloss compared to the full size. The packaging is almost identical, even down to the detail of the metallic lid!

20171205_152146_HDR

The first lippie for Day 1 is a Matte Lipstick in the shade Eden. I was a bit worried because the box and tube showed it to be a true red but it was actually more pink toned than it looked. I love pinky reds because I feel they brighten up my makeup without being too harsh. I actually really liked this formula, it was comfortable and went on extremely opaque. I did not find it too drying and it looked creamy on the lips despite being matte. I would definitely wear this lipstick again!

DSC_0331

The second lippie is a Liquid Suede cream lipstick in the shade Soft-Spoken. I LOVE this color but I didn’t really love the formula. I wore it to a supper out and after eating it had completely worn off and it didn’t fade nicely. I like the color enough though to wear it again, I just won’t wear it when I know I will be eating or drinking much.

20171205_154452

The third lippie is the Simply Vamp lip cream in the shade She Devil. I do not usually like vampy colors because I find them patchy and this lip cream was no exception. It was very patchy and hard to apply. The formula itself was nice and creamy but it could not be built up so it never looked fully opaque. I do not recommend this formula at all.

20171205_113640_HDR

The fourth lippie is a Lip Lingerie in the shade Push Up. I originally thought this color would be way too light on me but I actually ended up loving it! It is the perfect “my lips but better” nude color and I have found myself wearing it a few times already. I have reviewed this formula before here. I still feel the same way about the formula being dry and not long lasting, but I like the color enough to wear a gloss over it and this color wears off nicely. I highly recommend this one!

20171205_152911_HDR.jpg

The fifth lippie is a Soft Matte Lip Cream in the shade Paris. I have a lot of these in my collection but luckily didn’t have Paris already. I like this color and the formula of Matte Lip Creams. They dry down fairly quickly and are not too drying on the lips. I find them quite long wearing but not fully transfer proof. I recommend any of the Soft Matte Lip Creams as I have five or more already in my collection.

20171205_161423_HDR

The sixth lippie is a Butter Lipstick in the shade Seashell. I had my sister try it because I felt it would be way too light for my skin tone. She did not like how light it was on her either. I have tried Butter Lipsticks before and do not love them. They are creamy and comfortable but not long wearing and depending on the color they can stain your lips. I think my sister pulled this color off but I do not think its for everyone.

20171205_153713

The seventh lippie is an Intense Butter Gloss in the shade Berry Strudel. I have a couple Intense Butter Glosses and I LOVE them! They are fairly hydrating and really pigmented and they last quite awhile. They wear down well without staining your lips, even the darker colors. I am not a fan of purple lip products at all because they are often patchy but this one was really pigmented and buildable. I do not see myself wearing it out of the house but it was fun to try with a purple eye look! I do recommend this formula if you are looking for opaque lip glosses.

So that concludes Week 1 on my NYX Lippie Countdown! I am really excited to try the rest of them in the upcoming weeks. This advent calendar is such a great way to try different shades and formulas of NYX lip products! Let me know in the comments if you purchased any Advent Calendars this season.

signature1

Follow me on social media:  

Beauty and Mom Life Instagram

Beauty and Mom Life Twitter

 

 

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment